9 Cool Things in Fredericksburg (Part One: Gift Ideas)

5 Dec
Didn't see any longhorns!

Mooo…

Last weekend was time for a little post-Thanksgiving, pre-Christmas getaway.  Since time was tight, we decided to head out to Fredericksburg and kill two birds with one stone: bird 1) relax, bird 2) research for an eventual Fredericksburg section on the Market. We hadn’t been out in about 6 years, and things have changed quite a bit. For one thing, there are about 1000 wineries out there now.  Well, OK, maybe not 1000, but more than there were before.  And we’re all for that!  This trip we didn’t stop to take a tour, because we had a shopping and rockin’ agenda (to be covered in Part 2), but next time we will.

Since it was a quick overnight we didn’t get very far off the beaten path, but we still managed to be reminded of why The Burg is such a mecca for home goods.  We made a few other discoveries as well, and this week we’re sharing a few that offer unique gift ideas.

Red

Birdcage lamp

Not made from antlers, but that’s OK.

If you think Fredericksburg is all antler art and bluebonnet paintings (of which there are plenty and we’re not complaining) then Red will come as either a welcome surprise or somewhat of a shock.  But this super-cool, vintage-meets-rustic-meets-modern store on Main Street suggests a change in Fredericksburg.  Lots of reclaimed-type and mid-century stuff, plus a great selection of smaller gifty items.

Gift Idea: The nifty 3D cardboard animals.

D’Vine Wine

Divine Wine

First stop, wine!

As we were driving in we noticed all the new vineyards, but also that the vines were pretty young (being wine connoisseurs, we can tell this type of thing, naturally).  So this winery buys grapes from elsewhere, but makes the wine right there.  We did the 6-sip tasting and ended up buying a bottle of the Broken Spoke Red, which we loved.  I don’t see it listed on their website, so maybe it’s available only in the store, but we also loved the sangiovese if you want to try to order something.

Gift Idea: You can actually custom-order wine! Pick the type you want (with their expert guidance), design a label, then come back in a month or two to bottle and label it with the staff. You can bring a friend or two and make it a party.  What a great gift this would be for the oneophile in your life.

Amish Market

amish_market_fredericksburg

Fine furniture and cheese.

I wouldn’t have thought I would have been so smitten with this store, but I was.  I appreciate the simple lines of typical Amish/Mennonite furniture, but it’s not usually my style.  But the stuff they  had in this store was so beautifully crafted, I had to reconsider.  The thing that struck me most was not the quality of the wood (which was exceptional) but the quality of the finish.  It was like satin, which sounds cliche, but it really did feel that soft and smooth.  As someone who has tried do do a little refinishing, I was impressed.

Gift Idea: All sorts of Amish food treats, try the sweet onion cheese.

It’s aGlow

Honeycomb calcite candle

All this glow from a tealight!

I’m a sucker for rocks, the mineral room is always my favorite at the Natural History Museum. So of course this store caught my attention – all they sell are items made from Honeycomb Calcite.  They had an assortment of items, but from my perspective the best use is as a faux candle.  See, I am not sure I approve of battery-operated candles that are all the rage right now, call me Amish.  On the other hand, I am tired of tealights constantly blowing out on my outdoor lanterns and drippy wax on my candleholders.  So these calcite things (really, they’re just cylinders) allow you to use a real tealight, but somehow they amplify the light while also protecting the flame from the wind.  I bought two just to test, but I think I’m going to get a whole bunch of them and use them exclusively from now on.  Plus, no fake vanilla scent.

Gift Idea: The whole store.

Vaudeville

Vaudeville

You can sort of see the doors in this picture…

I am so in love.  This furniture store-gallery-bistro somewhat defies definition (although I guess I did an OK  job right there) and also is definitely not of the old-Fredericksburg mold.  The first things that stopped me cold on the street were the massive front doors; they were just incredible and I’m so sorry I didn’t get a better picture for you.  Drawn in as if mesmerized, I wandered through the main level trying to look as if I could afford some of the fantastic pieces in the furniture gallery.  I floated down the iron-railed staircase to discover the wine store and bistro, only to be devastated to discover they only served dinner on Mondays (by reservation).  I was so distraught that I didn’t even realize there was a gallery on the upper floor.  Our next trip will definitely include a Monday night.

Gift Idea: Make reservations for the Monday night dinner, then walk a few doors down and stay at Eden’s Gate.

Don’t miss Part Two; in which there is more wine and shopping!

One Response to “9 Cool Things in Fredericksburg (Part One: Gift Ideas)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 9 Cool Things in Fredericksburg – Furniture, Wine and Wildflowers (Part Two) | Red Chair Market - April 17, 2013

    […] you will undoubtedly recall, Mr. Handsome and I took a trip out to Fredericksburg in December to enjoy some R&R and do a little scouting for our loyal followers.  For such a […]

Leave a Reply

