Things Not to Put in Your Carryon

14 Sep

As I’ve warned before, we may occasionally veer off in to food here. Beautiful spaces should be accented by wonderful tastes, that’s how I justify it.

I love fall food, probably because it’s more loaded with calories than skimpy summer stuff. Salad’s good and all, but how can it compare to something hearty and yummy like a good spicy chili or thick cassoulet?

Oh how he fussed about wearing this tuxedo, but he looks so handsome!

I’m sharing a recipe inspired by my father, an avid cook and gardener.  We were recently up in Colorado and he sent us home with one of these white scalloped squashes (which, incidentally, will get your carryon searched at the airport).  He had stuffed a few of them at home, so I decided to give it a try myself.  I didn’t have a whole lot of ingredients on hand and was loath to go to the grocery store for the 900th time that week, so I made do with what I had.  It turned out great – even the kids liked it.

Stuffed Scalloped Squash

Dad scooped out the flesh before he baked it, but otherwise the process was the same.

First, bake the squash at 350 for about 40 minutes to soften it up.  Then make a thin slice off the top (the more rounded side).  Scoop out the flesh with a melon-baller and chop it up.  While the squash is cooking, saute some onion and garlic, and steam some wild rice.  Then combine it all, season with salt and pepper, toss in some fresh chopped parsley and Parmesan and stuff the filling back in to the squash.  Sprinkle on some bread crumbs and put it back in the oven for 20 or so minutes.

Yum! And pretty healthy too.

Voila! My dad put some sausage in his, which would have been yummy if we’d had some.  I would think this technique could work pretty well with other squashes too, I’m going to try some tiny pumpkins later on this fall.

Have a great stuffed-squash recipe?  Share it with us, and I’ll pass it on to Dad too!

P.S. Here is a picture of Dad’s yard.  See more here.

In full bloom.

One Response to “Things Not to Put in Your Carryon”

  1. robert erickson September 14, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Wonderful!! You did a great job. Easy to understand and a bit of pizzaz in the telling. The only thing I was unclear about was what you do with the flesh scooped from the patty pan squash. I sauteed it along with the onions and added it to the mix. I’m going to forward it to a few friends. You know, that picture of me must be from your wedding. love, dad

    Date: Fri, 14 Sep 2012 18:05:11 +0000 To: fishharp1@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

